Author

  • Stefano Mazzotti

Share

"Paola e Giuseppe Bescapè" Photography Museum

Phone Tel.421609 (Sig. Bescapè Silvano) ; Tel.0371 70031 (Town Hall)
Street and number Palazzo municipale, Piazza Matteotti, 1 26824 Cavenago d’Adda (LO)
City Cavenago d'Adda
Country ITA

The Museum of Photography of Cavenago d’Adda retraces the
history of photography in the Lodigiano territory; it is dedicated
to Paola and Giuseppe Bescapè and is placed on the first floor of
the Town Hall of Cavenago d’Adda. The museum was first opened
in 1980 in Orio Litta, inside Villa Litta Carini, and was hosted there
by the “Commendatore” Oreste Carini for more than ten years; in
1993, it was moved to its present location after a request by the
Town Council of Cavenago d’Adda.
The collection was created about forty years ago thanks to Silvano
Bescapè, a photographer who worked on the Lodigiano territory and
who, when he started to collect pictures and postcards of the late 19th
century and the beginning of the 20th century, was really careful to
acquire and enhance the images, with the purpose of preserving all that
material which otherwise would have been lost. After the closedown of some Lodigiani photo-studios, he tried to save not only the archives with
the images, but also the equipment, the photographic materials and
some historical pieces of furniture. Furthermore, Bescapè’s research did
not only stop to professional photographers, but it also involved those
who were aware of his passion and thus decided to deprive themselves
of family memories so that those could be put on public display.
The archive includes photographs, plates and negatives: there are about
15.000 pictures of different periods (between 1850 and 1980), 30.000
negatives and plates of different sizes, 20.000 images from 135 mm
photographic film coming from the “Nino Tronchini Studio”, which was
open between 1935 and 1943, 8.000 original postcards dating back to a
period of time between the end of the 19th century and the middle of
the following century.To all of this material, it must be added also the
important “Foto Celso Archive”, which consists of more than 500.000
photographs that still have to be catalogued.
The “Emilio Miragoli” Room: this first room leads us to the collection
of professional photographic devices dating back to a period of time
between 1880 and 1940. Inside the first showcase, it is possible to
look at a set of tools, viewers and advertising material.
Furthermore, there is a rich collection of family photo albums of
different shapes and styles dating back to a time between the
second half of the 19th century and the first years of the 20th
century. Inside the second showcase are on display photographic
devices from different periods and a wide range of frames.
The “Arnaldo Bascapè” Room: inside this room, those who created
the museum wanted to recreate the interior of a photography shop
of the Thirties, with original shop windows and desk. Entering the room,
visitors can see, inside the showcase on the left, amateur photographic
devices dating back to a time between 1890 and 1970.
In the showcase in front of this one, there are photographic devices
used between 1950 and 1980, as well as devices and accessories used
by the photographers Gino Scalza from Secugnago, Foto Celso and
Atelier Silvano in Lodi. In this room, it is also possible to admire the
enlargement of the first known picture of the Bridge over the river Adda
in Lodi (1863).
The “Nino and Elio Peveri” Room: this is the room where has been
mounted a “pose room” of the first years of the 20th century, with a
backcloth and photographic device from a Lodigiano studio. The whole
room is dedicated to pictures and images by Lodigiani photographers.
There are as well several representations of how social life was during
the times when those people worked, leaving thus permanent evidence
of our recent past.
The “Attilio Novazzi” Room: the room is dedicated to amateur
filmmaking. The projectors and the cameras, the posters, the pictures
and the advertising material concern the different historical times in
between 1920 and 1960. Particularly interesting are the three projectors
for movie theatres coming from the parish rooms of Castiglione d’Adda,
Cavenago d’Adda and Miradolo Terme. Furthermore, here are also on
display posters of very important movies.


The third Sunday of each month (from March to October), from 3.00 pm to 6.00 pm; reservation is required for any other day of the year.

Map

Nearby...loading